About Us

Brief Profile Of The Academic Staff Union Of Polytechnics (Asup)

The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics, Nigeria is a registered Trade Union (CAP 437 of 1990). The Union, is an affiliate of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC). The Union also interfaces other Unions in the Education sector particularly in the tertiary sub-sector within prescribed limits in its constitution.The Union serves to protect and promote members’ interests as well as that of the Technical Education sub-sector and the Education sector in general.

Membership of the Union covers all academic staff (Lecturers, Technologists, Instructors and Librarians) in all public Polytechnics and Monotechnics in Nigeria.

Activities of the Union are regulated through provisions in the Union’s constitution approved and gazetted by the Registrar of Trade Unions, Federal Ministry of Labour and Employment, Abuja; provisions of the Trade Union’s Act and provisions of the Nigerian Constitution. The Union also draws from its rich history in terms of traditions and practices. The Union’s legal adviser guides the Union in its observation of these extant laws.

The Union currently has its National Secretariat at Plot 261 2nd Gate Off Main Street, Mab Global Estate, Karsana District, Gwarimpa, Phase 2 Abuja with its Council of National officers led by the National President, spread across member institutions. The National Officers are responsible for the day to day running of the Union and execute decisions of the National Executive Council of the Union. The four Zones (A,B,C and D) represent the member chapters in the North West, North East/ Central, South West and South East/South geopolitical Zones of the Country respectively. Each of the Zones is led by a Zonal Coordinator and is governed through the Zonal Executive Councils. The member chapters are led by Chapter Chairmen who govern the chapters through the chapter Executive Councils and the Chapter Congresses. The biennial National Delegates Conference is the highest decision making organ of the Union.

The Union is mainly funded by membership subscription fees (check off dues) which is pegged at 2% of members consolidated basic salary deducted at source. The Union also generates funds from the organisation of annual educational programmes like conferences and workshops as well as levies and donations from agencies of Government and Non-governmental agencies. Other sources of funds include sales of publications, memorabilia and souvenirs of the Union. An external auditor submits audited accounts of the Union to the National Delegates Conference

The Union’s accounts are currently domiciled in United Bank for Africa, Adetokumbo Ademola Branch, Abuja

Anderson, U. Ezeibe

Secretary General

Council of National Officers (CNO)

Comrade Usman Dutse


Comrade Ogunseye O. Timothy

Vice President

Comrade Ezeibe Anderson

Secretary General

Comrade Akowe Joel

Assistant General Secretary

Comrade Nnaa B. G.

National Internal Auditor

Comrade Shammah Sunday Kpanja

Financial Secretary

Comrade Suleiman Usman

National Treasurer

Comrade Nkoro Chris Ngozi

National Publicity Secretary

Comrade Chibuzo Asumugha


Comrade Kabir Yunusa

Zone A Coordinator

Comrade Yalwa Abdullahi

Zone B Coordinator

Comrade Olawale Adetunji Omobaorun

Zone C Coordinator

Comrade Ogonwa Nelson Chika

Zone D Coordinator