FG sets up team on ASUU, ASUP, COEASU demands
January 8, 2017 asupnigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the membership of a federal government’s team to renegotiate the 2009 agreement with Academic Staff Union of Universities, (ASUU).

The team will also deliberate on the agreements reached between the government and the Colleges of Education Academic Staff Union, (COEASU) and Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP).

Director, Press and Public Relations, Federal Ministry of Education, Ihuoma, C. P, said in a statement that the team which was announced by the Minister of Education, Malam AdamuAdamu, was set up with a view to engendering sustainable peace and industrial harmony in tertiary institutions.

The 16-member team was chaired by Dr. Wale Babalakin, a Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN). Babalakin, who was adjudged the best pro-chancellor at the time of the negotiations in 2009, headed the agreement implementation committee then.

Members of the team included Prof. M.M. Jibril, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lafia, Prof. Nimi Briggs, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Lokoja, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Otuoke, Arc. Lawrence Ngbale, Pro-Chancellor, Federal University, Birnin Kebbi, Prince Alex Mbata, Pro-Chancellor, Imo State University, Owerri, Prof. Olufemi Bamiro and Pro-Chancellor, Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijagun.

Others are representatives of Federal Ministry of Education, Ministry of Labour and Employment, Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Justice, Ministry of Budget & National Planning, National Salaries, Incomes and Wages Commission (NSIWC) and Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF).

The statement said President Buhari has also approved the reconstitution of the governing councils of University of Port Harcourt and Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife. The new governing councils would serve a term of four years, in the first instance, effective from December 28, 2016.



Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *